Our Story

ATA travel was established in 1979 (license no: 273) and since then has become one of the fastest growing travel companies in Egypt. Our reputation ensures service quality and the biggest record of reliability and trust from our agents all over the world. All our services have been launched to target the client satisfaction concepts which are our main goal .

Working Hours

Monday - Friday 09:00 AM - 21.00 PM
Saturday - Sunday Friday

Latest News

20 33377441 - 20 33357396 - 20 33359043

Sat - Thur 9.00 - 21.00 Friday CLOSED

Top
St. Mary Church { Maadi } - ATA Arab Travel Agency
962
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-962,single-format-standard,mkd-core-1.1.1,mkdf-social-login-1.1,mkdf-tours-1.3,voyage-ver-1.3,mkdf-smooth-scroll,mkdf-smooth-page-transitions,mkdf-ajax,mkdf-grid-1300,mkdf-blog-installed,mkdf-breadcrumbs-area-enabled,mkdf-header-standard,mkdf-no-behavior,mkdf-default-mobile-header,mkdf-sticky-up-mobile-header,mkdf-dropdown-default,mkdf-light-header,mkdf-fullscreen-search,mkdf-search-fade,mkdf-side-menu-slide-from-right,mkdf-medium-title-text,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

St. Mary Church { Maadi }

St. Mary Church { Maadi }

The church of Saint Mary is located in Maddi district south of Cairo around 13 km south of Ramsis Square (Down Town) directly on the Nile . This location gives the church special importance. Furthermore, this position has its unique significance because the holy family has passed through it and settled there before moving to a monastery in Upper Egypt known now by Deir El Moharaq or El Moharaq Monastery

Church History

All historic sources assure that the holy family has passed through this church on its way to upper Egypt ; nevertheless, the name of the church has changed throughout history 

1- El- Martouty  Church:

This name was mentioned in a book called “Siar el Baiyaa El Mokadasa (Stories of Holy Places)”  which was written 1088 AD and in another book called  “El Shiekh Mawhoub Ibn Mofarag the Alexandrian. The second book is also known nowadays as  “The book of the Bishops” in the chapter in which the biography of Pope Kyrillos II was mentioned . This reference is considered one of the oldest sources that wrote about the church history.

2- Bayt El Sayeda El Thara Mart Maria:

This name was mentioned by a very famous historian called “El Shiekh El Motammed Abou El Makaram Saad Allah Ibn Gerges Ibn Masoud”  in one of his books titled “The History of Abi Saleh el Armany” written 1209. The writer marked that the Copts have established this church in accordance to the name of Lady Fama, who was known by “El Martouty”. “El-Martouty” is  a Romanian word that means “The Mother of God’s Word.”

3-“Ty Thiotokos  Maria Tyklabi”- “The Mother of God in Adaweya”

This name occurred at the end of one of the manuscript titled ” El Takrizat”. This manuscript includes a list of all churches and monasteries written in Arabic and English . This list goes back to the 13th century.

4- “Kenisat Setna El Sayeda Bel Adawaya”- “The Church of Our Lady in Adaweya”:

This name appeared in a book wrote by St.Barsoum El-Eryan titled “The 13th Wonder.” St. Barsoum is one of the famous saints of the Coptic Orthodox Church who used to live in a monastery called “Sharan Monastry” in a district in South Cairo named “Maasara” from1317 to 1302.

5- “Kenisat Mariam Benhayat el Adaweya”- “The Church  of Saint Mary in El Adaweya”:

This name was mentioned in the manuscript of El Marquizi (1436-1417).

6-“Dier El- Set El Sayeda Bel Adaweya”- “The Monastry of our Lady in Adaweya”:

This name appeared in one of the books written by a Diacon named “Salib Ebn Aby El Farag ” in 1638.

7-“Dier El Adaweya” -“The Monastery of El Adaweya”:

This name was mentioned by one of the fathers named “Fansilop” while passing on the monastery on his way to Upper Egypt.

8- “Bayet El-Sayeda El Marouf Bedir Al-Adaweya El Atfiheya”- “The House of Our Lady that is known as the Monastery of El- Adaweya El-Athfiheya”: 

   This name was known during the period in which the Chrism “El Mairoon” was made in St. Mary church in Harat El Room

9-“Bayet El Sayeda Waledat Al Ellah  El Adraa Martmariam El Kaena Bel Adaweya Besharq Atfih”- “The House of The Mother, St. Mary, that is located in El-Adaweya East of Atfih”:

This name was found in one of the manuscripts in the church on February 28,1713.

10- “Bayet El-Sayeda Martmariam Bdier El Adawaya”- “The Church of Our Lady St. Mary in El-Adaweya Monastery”:

This name was mentioned in one of the manuscripts found in El Azbakeya Cathedral (Old Cathedral in Down Town) on  November 29, 1717.

11- “Kaniysat El Sayeda El Maaroufa Bedier El Adaweya”- “The Church of Our Lady known as El-Adaweya”:

  As mentioned in the biography of Pope Peter, the 104th Pope of the Alexandrian patriarch ,   from 1718 to 1726.

After stating all the names of the church starting from the 11th century till the 18th century, we can determine that it has been always a church not a monastery. Calling it a  monastery  has started form the 17th century and this happened due to the following reasons :

 

1-     All Buildings surrounded by a wall were called a monastery

2-     All establishments that belong to the church were called monasteries in the formal writings.

The church on the the role of his Holiness Pope Shenouda the III :

Fortunately , in his time the church wins his fatherly care in many branches as he is visiting it

·         In 1973 , it was gathered the first council of the church during the time of Pope Shenoda , as the ershedeacon Fawzy Girgis and it is continued till 1978

·         In 1975 , Pope Shenoda the third cared to know the history of St. marry church in Maadi , as in the morning of Christmas his eminence told prof. Nabeih Kamel Dawood to write a research about the history of the church , he was responsible for that duty and present it to his eminence on Friday , 24 January 1975.

·         In 12 March 1976 , some people saw an open Bible was flouting on the surface of the Nile , the Bible was opened at Eshias act, chapter 19 , the verse was said “ blessed my Egyptian people “

·         In 14 November 1977 , Pope shenoda the third gives father Philopos el Boghdady the responsibility of the church , who was the first priest of it .

·         gypt and lived in Maadi .

·         During her residence in Egypt till 1991 , she visited the church and deeply loved it as astonishing by the Coptic church as a whole in its spirituality and worship . she joined the Orthodoxical church , as she used to say the praises , besides she studied the Coptic language . she joined the Coptic institution where she studied the Coptic arts . she got her Phd . supervised by Prof. Izac Fanos . the phd was discussed in the present of Pope Shenoda the third with other professors , entitled by “ To current Coptic art “ . the church constructed a studio for learning and encouraging Coptic drawings , she had many students as she drew many Coptic icons to the church .

·         In 1982 , the church started to celebrate the entrance of the Holy family to Egypt in 31 May .

·         At the end of 1982 , a third council was stated under the leadership of sir Makram Marzok , during Pope Shenoda’s era , as it was continued till 14 April 1988.

·         In 17 November 1983 , Priest Antonios Attia became the second father of the church .

·         In 1983, during Pope Shenoda’s era and the service of the Philopos Yossief Boghdady , it was started the reconstruction of the church and expanding it to its current state , and got it back to its original dimension by hallowing the western walls in the yard of the church which was a continous part of it . this huge work was started in 18 January 1983 till 1993

·         n 1986 , Pope Shenoda held the duty to Bishop of Demiette father Bishoy to observe the church till 1993 .

·         In 1986 , one of the visitors from Alexandria had found in a picture was captured to the Bible the shadow of the Holy family and he sent it to the church as it was kept in the shrine near to the holy Bible

·         In 15 April 1988 , his eminence was taken the decision of forming the current council of the church under the leadership of eng. Monir Fakhry Andrawes .

·         In December 1988 , Pope Shenoda chose father Kliomondos Wadee to be father of the church , who came from st. mark church in Maadi .

·         During the time between 1992 to 1996 , the bridge of the Nile was covered many times with  a permission from the general administration of protecting the Nile .

·         In 6 March 1992 , it was brought a part of the bodies of El Fayoum saints to the church .

·         In March 1993 , father Tadros Fouad became the third priest of the church.

·         In May 1993 , Pope Shenoda vowed Bishop Danial to be a general bishop of Maadi , Torah and Dar el Salam .

·         In 18 January 1983 , it was started the reconstruction and expansion of the church to its old state .as it was discovered an old tunnel , it included buildings from both sides , and this work was continued till 1993 .

·         In 19 March 1994 , Father Antonios Attia was promoted to be the Pastor of the church .

During the time 1996 till 1998 , with the help of Bishop Danial , it was taken the acceptance of the ministry of irrigation to make an overlong umbrella for the church with four meters where it gave the chance to build halls and places for visitors .

The church of Saint Mary is located in Maddi district south of Cairo around 13 km south of Ramsis Square (Down Town) directly on the Nile . This location gives the church special importance. Furthermore, this position has its unique significance because the holy family has passed through it and settled there before moving to a monastery in Upper Egypt known now by Deir El Moharaq or El Moharaq Monastery.

 

Church History

 

All historic sources assure that the holy family has passed through this church on its way to upper Egypt ; nevertheless, the name of the church has changed throughout history 

 

1- El- Martouty  Church:

 

This name was mentioned in a book called “Siar el Baiyaa El Mokadasa (Stories of Holy Places)”  which was written 1088 AD and in another book called  “El Shiekh Mawhoub Ibn Mofarag the Alexandrian. The second book is also known nowadays as  “The book of the Bishops” in the chapter in which the biography of Pope Kyrillos II was mentioned . This reference is considered one of the oldest sources that wrote about the church history.

 

2- Bayt El Sayeda El Thara Mart Maria:

 

This name was mentioned by a very famous historian called “El Shiekh El Motammed Abou El Makaram Saad Allah Ibn Gerges Ibn Masoud”  in one of his books titled “The History of Abi Saleh el Armany” written 1209. The writer marked that the Copts have established this church in accordance to the name of Lady Fama, who was known by “El Martouty”. “El-Martouty” is  a Romanian word that means “The Mother of God’s Word.”

 

3-“Ty Thiotokos  Maria Tyklabi”- “The Mother of God in Adaweya”

 

This name occurred at the end of one of the manuscript titled ” El Takrizat”. This manuscript includes a list of all churches and monasteries written in Arabic and English . This list goes back to the 13th century.

 

4- “Kenisat Setna El Sayeda Bel Adawaya”- “The Church of Our Lady in Adaweya”:

 

This name appeared in a book wrote by St.Barsoum El-Eryan titled “The 13th Wonder.” St. Barsoum is one of the famous saints of the Coptic Orthodox Church who used to live in a monastery called “Sharan Monastry” in a district in South Cairo named “Maasara” from1317 to 1302.

 

5- “Kenisat Mariam Benhayat el Adaweya”- “The Church  of Saint Mary in El Adaweya”:

 

This name was mentioned in the manuscript of El Marquizi (1436-1417).

 

6-“Dier El- Set El Sayeda Bel Adaweya”- “The Monastry of our Lady in Adaweya”:

 

This name appeared in one of the books written by a Diacon named “Salib Ebn Aby El Farag ” in 1638.

 

7-“Dier El Adaweya” -“The Monastery of El Adaweya”:

 

This name was mentioned by one of the fathers named “Fansilop” while passing on the monastery on his way to Upper Egypt.

 

8- “Bayet El-Sayeda El Marouf Bedir Al-Adaweya El Atfiheya”- “The House of Our Lady that is known as the Monastery of El- Adaweya El-Athfiheya”: 

   This name was known during the period in which the Chrism “El Mairoon” was made in St. Mary church in Harat El Room

 

9-“Bayet El Sayeda Waledat Al Ellah  El Adraa Martmariam El Kaena Bel Adaweya Besharq Atfih”- “The House of The Mother, St. Mary, that is located in El-Adaweya East of Atfih”:

 

This name was found in one of the manuscripts in the church on February 28,1713.

 

10- “Bayet El-Sayeda Martmariam Bdier El Adawaya”- “The Church of Our Lady St. Mary in El-Adaweya Monastery”:

 

This name was mentioned in one of the manuscripts found in El Azbakeya Cathedral (Old Cathedral in Down Town) on  November 29, 1717.

 

11- “Kaniysat El Sayeda El Maaroufa Bedier El Adaweya”- “The Church of Our Lady known as El-Adaweya”:

 

  As mentioned in the biography of Pope Peter, the 104th Pope of the Alexandrian patriarch ,   from 1718 to 1726.

 

 

After stating all the names of the church starting from the 11th century till the 18th century, we can determine that it has been always a church not a monastery. Calling it a  monastery  has started form the 17th century and this happened due to the following reasons :

1-     All Buildings surrounded by a wall were called a monastery

2-     All establishments that belong to the church were called monasteries in the formal writings.

 

 

The church on the the role of his Holiness Pope Shenouda the III

Fortunatly , in his time the church wins his fatherly care in many branches as he is visiting it .

·       In 1973 , it was gathered the first council of the church during the time of Pope Shenoda , as the ershedeacon Fawzy Girgis and it is continued till 1978 .

·       In 1975 , Pope Shenoda the third cared to know the history of St. marry church in Maadi , as in the morning of Christmas his eminence told prof. Nabeih Kamel Dawood to write a research about the history of the church , he was responsible for that duty and present it to his eminence on Friday , 24 January 1975.

·       In 12 March 1976 , some people saw an open Bible was flouting on the surface of the Nile , the Bible was opened at Eshias act, chapter 19 , the verse was said “ blessed my Egyptian people “ .

·       In 14 November 1977 , Pope shenoda the third gives father Philopos el Boghdady the responsibility of the church , who was the first priest of it .

·       In 1979 , Dr Jackline Ascott , who came from British origins , came to Egypt and lived in Maadi .

During her residence in Egypt till 1991 , she visited the church and deeply loved it as astonishing by the Coptic church as a whole in its spirituality and worship . she joined the Orthodoxical church , as she used to say the praises , besides she studied the Coptic language . she joined the Coptic institution where she studied the Coptic arts . she got her Phd . supervised by Prof. Izac Fanos . the phd was discussed in the present of Pope Shenoda the third with other professors , entitled by “ To current Coptic art “ . the church constructed a studio for learning and encouraging Coptic drawings , she had many students as she drew many Coptic icons to the church .

·       In 1982 , the church started to celebrate the entrance of the Holy family to Egypt in 31 May .

·       At the end of 1982 , a third council was stated under the leadership of sir Makram Marzok , during Pope Shenoda’s era , as it was continued till 14 April 1988.

·       In 17 November 1983 , Priest Antonios Attia became the second father of the church .

·       In 1983, during Pope Shenoda’s era and the service of the Philopos Yossief Boghdady , it was started the reconstruction of the church and expanding it to its current state , and got it back to its original dimension by hallowing the western walls in the yard of the church which was a continous part of it . this huge work was started in 18 January 1983 till 1993 .

·       In 1986 , Pope Shenoda held the duty to Bishop of Demiette father Bishoy to observe the church till 1993 .

·       In 1986 , one of the visitors from Alexandria had found in a picture was captured to the Bible the shadow of the Holy family and he sent it to the church as it was kept in the shrine near to the holy Bible .

·       In 15 April 1988 , his eminence was taken the decision of forming the current council of the church under the leadership of eng. Monir Fakhry Andrawes .

·       In December 1988 , Pope Shenoda chose father Kliomondos Wadee to be father of the church , who came from st. mark church in Maadi .

·       During the time between 1992 to 1996 , the bridge of the Nile was covered many times with  a permission from the general administration of protecting the Nile .

·       In 6 March 1992 , it was brought a part of the bodies of El Fayoum saints to the church .

·       In March 1993 , father Tadros Fouad became the third priest of the church .

·       In May 1993 , Pope Shenoda vowed Bishop Danial to be a general bishop of Maadi , Torah and Dar el Salam .

·       In 18 January 1983 , it was started the reconstruction and expansion of the church to its old state .as it was discovered an old tunnel , it included buildings from both sides , and this work was continued till 1993 .

·       In 19 March 1994 , Father Antonios Attia was promoted to be the Pastor of the church .

·       During the time 1996 till 1998 , with the help of Bishop Danial , it was taken the acceptance of the ministry of irrigation to make an overlong umbrella for the church with four meters where it gave the chance to build halls and places for visitors . 

No Comments

Leave a Reply:

You don't have permission to register